The 5 Best Pumpkin Flavored Foods

Like many others, I love fall. Also like many others, I love pumpkin flavored things. It is arguably the reason I most like fall.

Because pumpkin is the best, and any sane person would agree, here are my favorite Pumpkin flavored things (like half of these are variations of coffee, sorry, life of a caffeine addict)

1. Iced Pumpkin Flavored Coffee from Dunkin’ Donuts

This is NOT a pumpkin spice flavored thing. It’s just pumpkin flavored. I’m obsessed with iced coffee, and will drink it in the middle of winter because I don’t care. This drink is perfect for that time of year when it’s early September and you really want fall foods and fall weather and fall clothes but it’s still stupidly hot and you feel like you’ll die drinking a hot drink (I’m 100% a fall weather girl. Leather Jacket weather is when I’m at my prime, yet another reason I love fall). Since this drink is both iced and pumpkin flavored, it brings fall taste, but without over heating you. Also Dunkin Donuts is super cheap so that’s a perk. I also really like this drink because the coffee flavor is still there, enhanced by the pumpkin, not overwhelmed.

2. Pumpkin Spice Latte from Starbucks (What else?)

I couldn’t write an article about pumpkin flavored things and not mention the PSL. This blog is called three basic bees isn’t it? The PSL is great, but there’s not much coffee flavor in it, which kind of makes me sad. But if you really like pumpkin and don’t really like coffee, this is for you. It’s still fall in a cup. I can usually only drink a tall because it’s so sweet, and too much of a sweet drink make me feel super sick. The PSL is a fall classic.

3. Iced Pumpkin Chai from Argo Tea

IMG_0196

I love chai tea, and I love pumpkin so when I saw this on the menu at Argo Tea I knew I needed to try it. I opted for the iced version because as I said above, I love iced drinks. It’s like pumpkin pie in a cup. I’m not kidding, this is so good. After moving to Chicago, and having one super close to campus, Argo Tea quickly became a staple in my life. They have a fantastic range of tea, and the pumpkin chai is a great fall drink. Seriously, it’s like drinking pumpkin pie through a straw, and is probably healthier than eating a slice of pie, what’s not to like?

4. Pumpkin Butter from Trader Joe’s

Trader Joe’s is killing it with their flavored butters. Their cookie butter is another favorite of mine after my roommate last year made me try some. However, their pumpkin butter is also perfect. As a kid I loved popovers (and if you don’t know what those are go rectify that immediately, google it, you won’t be sorry) and putting popovers with pumpkin butter is a match made in heaven. You can also bake with it to make pumpkin baked goods, or use it on toast. Go buy it.

5. Pumpkin Ice Cream from Ferris Acres Creamery:

Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 4.32.48 PM

Sadly, I could not find a picture of the beauty, but this is the second best thing

Remember that time I wrote about my favorite place on earth? The greatest ice cream place ever? Ferris Acres? No? Go fix that: http://threebasicbees.com/2014/05/14/ferris-acres-creamery/ 

So I’ve talked about how much I love their ice cream because it’s the best place ever. Kelly and her roommate Emily are coming home with me over fall break (well we’re going to NYC and making a pit stop in my town) and the only thing I’m making them do is go to Ferris with me so I can get my pumpkin ice cream. It’s a seasonal option and I thought I might miss it this year but I don’t have to and this is the best thing ever. It is also like pumpkin pie in ice cream form and is a magical experience. This ice cream made me really develop my love for pumpkin flavored things. It’s that good. If you’re in Newtown, CT from now until it closes in late October, you need to make a pit stop and get some pumpkin ice cream. It’s 100% necessary, sorry I don’t make the rules.

Honorable Mention: Not pumpkin flavored

Apple Cider Doughnuts from Blue Jay Orchards

Blue Jay Orchards was a staple for me as a child (it’s an apple orchard and pumpkin patch to pick your own apples). After picking your own apples you could get fresh doughnuts to take home, or eat there and they’re so good. This has no relevance to this article but I can’t talk about fall food without mentioning them. (Sidenote, are apple cider doughnuts supposed to taste like apple cider, or are they supposed to be eaten with apple cider: discuss).

 Happy Fall!

Colleen

Leave a Reply

