5 Websites That Will Make College Life Easier

As college life gets more intense, I thought I would share some of my favorite websites that keep me productive and help me out in my daily life.

 1. Self Control:

http://selfcontrolapp.com/

(I think this is called cold turkey for non-mac users)

Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 7.50.15 PM

This one is super great if you have no willpower and are constantly getting distracted by websites. I use it all the time, especially during finals and/or paper writing so I don’t waste a lot of time on Buzzfeed and tumblr and not get anything done. How it works is you set a list of websites you want to be blacklisted and set how much time you want them to be blocked for. I usually do like 45 minutes/ An hour and 15 minutes when I use it. Nothing you do will undo the action (like even if you turn off you computer you still can’t get onto them). So while you wait for them to be unblocked, you should just get work done because there’s nothing better to do right?

Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 7.50.58 PM

Here’s a look at what I blacklist

2. ToDOist:

https://en.todoist.com/

Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 7.51.59 PM

This app is literally a life saver. I love To-Do lists. It’s a weird thing I have, where once I actually make a To-Do list, my productivity skyrockets. This app is great because you can set the day you need things done, and the priority of it. You make an account and can have it on both your computer and phone, which is great for me because then I can add something to my list when I’m away from my computer. If you want, you can set the app to email you with daily reminders when you have tasks, which makes me productive because I have something that reminds me to do my work. Also you get points every time you complete a task and they track your productivity. It’s pretty cool.

Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 7.52.55 PM

My To Do list for today and tomorrow

3. Quizlet:

Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 7.55.17 PM

I’ve been using Quizlet since my freshman year of high school when my spanish teacher would make us practice on it like 4 times a week. I hated it at the time because it was required, but now it’s super helpful. You can make your own sets of flashcards and then quiz yourself. The best part is the one where you type out an answer because it helps commit the stuff to memory. You don’t even need to use it for foreign languages or definitions. When Kelly, Amanda, and I were struggling through anthropology our first semester of college, we used Quizlet to make a list of terms and questions that might be on the test and shared them with each other. Another great feature is that a lot of people make flashcard sets for textbooks and then make them public, because if they have the same book as you, you can study from flashcards that are already made which is a huge time saver if you’re in a time crunch.

Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 8.04.19 PM

4. Diigo:

www.diigo.com

Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 8.05.00 PM

Diigo is a website/browser extension that is so helpful when it comes to writing research papers. Basically, you make an account at diigo.com, download the browser extension (available for Google Chrome, Firefox, and Internet Explorer) and then it allows you you highlight anything from a website. Then it organizes it onto a webpage for you. You can tag things and sort them into groups. It’s really great when writing research papers or researching something, because when you find something useful on a website, you can just highlight it and the webpage and important lines.

Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 8.05.20 PM

Here’s how the front page gets organized when you bookmark/highlight an article.

5. Duolingo.com

https://www.duolingo.com/

Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 8.07.00 PM

This one is more for fun, and I haven’t used it for school, but I found it recently and have been playing around with it and it’s super cool. Basically, it’s a website that helps you learn a language for free. So far they have five complete courses (Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Portuguese), 3 in Beta (you can still learn the language, it’s just less comprehensive than the others) (the languages are Dutch, Irish, and Danish) and 6 courses being created at various levels of production (Hungarian, Swedish, Turkish, Russian, Polish, and Romanian). If you want to learn a language for fun or need extra help with a class, this is a really great program. It starts you off with the basics, (I’ve been playing around with the French course and the Dutch course because I’m looking at study abroad programs in France and The Netherlands) then you move up to more complex lessons. It works because it’s a combo of auditory, and visual learning. Sometimes it will give you a phrase or word in English to translate, or a phrase or word to translate to English. Or it will speak a phrase that you then have to spell out. It’s super cool if you just want to learn a language or need help in a language class.

Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 8.07.35 PM

It tracks your progress by levels, and by completion of categories

All right, stop procrastinating and start being productive!

Colleen

Leave a Reply

