Chicago Pizza: For You and Me

Ever since I moved to Chicago, I have been exposed to many different types of pizza. Of course Chicago’s famous deep-dish (with the sauce on top of the cheese and/or toppings on top of the crust) is a personal favorite of many, there are other kinds that cannot be overlooked. Chicago is home to thousands of pizza places, and they each are like snowflakes: every single one is unique in its own special way. So I am going to highlight a few places around the city to get America’s favorite food. Here we go.

I have to start off with Gino’s East. According to their website, Gino’s East opened in 1966 after ” two taxi drivers and a friend, frustrated with rush hour traffic, decided to open a pizzeria just off Michigan Ave. and Superior St.” They also claim to be the “original Chicago deep dish pizza”. Kelly, Colleen and I took a trip to their original location last fall, and of course, we took tons of pictures.

1236123_10200361447308984_794266475_n

Kelly took this one of the outside of the restaurant.

1157585_10200361447348985_1692635283_n

Here is Kelly with a coloring of “Pete Za” she decorated so very nicely.

1185209_4809040563633_139590601_n

Colleen took a selfie of her and her slice.

1180

As did I.

We loved Gino’s and even wrote on their walls! (their real walls, not their Facebook wall)

Do I recommend you going to Gino’s East if you get the chance? Heck yes!

Next is Giordano’s. They are also a typical deep dish style heaven on earth, but as I said earlier, no two pizza places are the same.

875

Here is a picture of a slice I had last summer while visiting Giordano’s.

As you can see, there is so much cheese and sauce-y goodness that it is overflowing the plate. I find it nearly impossible to eat a slice of pizza from here without cutting it up first and that is not a bad thing for me at all, due to my love of extra-cheesy pizza.

The first Giordano’s opened in Chicago in 1974. Just like Gino’s, they claim to be “Chicago’s best deep dish”, however, they say they got that title “by NBC, CBS Chicago, New York Times, Chicago Magazine, Chicago Tribune, Chicago Eater, Home & Garden Magazine, Concierge Preferred and more!”

It is safe to say that Giordano’s is a favorite of ours because there are many locations around Chicago, and so there is always one that is close by.

Do I recommend you going to Girodano’s if you get the chance? Heck yes!

The last place to get pizza in Chicago I am going to suggest is a small place called “Pete’s”.  It is located in Edgewater, right off of the Granville red line stop. I chose this place because I got a slice of NYC style pizza there and it was awesome. I have been to New York and have had New York pizza and of course no place in Chicago is going to make it better than a place in New York does, but Pete’s comes close.

1074

Look how big that thing is!

I think their secret is fact that they heat your slice up after you tell them what you want. Therefore it comes out hot and ready to eat in mere minutes.

This place is also awesome because they have assorted sandwiches, salads, cookies and gelato!

Do I recommend you going to Pete’s if you get the chance? Heck yes!

So I am sure you are questioning my critiquing skills because I like all three of these places but what can I say, I love pizza! In reality though, any pizza is good pizza. It is hard to screw up bread, sauce and cheese. Plus, you can’t go wrong with some Pizza Hut or Papa John’s either! Other places in Chicago I like include Lou Malnati’s, Pizzaria Uno, Pizzaria Due, Bar Toma and Go Roma.

Have a great weekend filled with pizza…!

~Amanda

Leave a Reply

