Afternoon Simplici-tea: Lollipop Jam Sandwiches

I have always loved the idea of cooking and baking. In my mind, I get to wear a cute apron and prance around the kitchen making delicious food. However, reality doesn’t work that way. Every time I’m in the kitchen, I seem to botch every recipe I touch (unless it’s cereal or toast). With that in mind, I’ll be posting simple recipes that make you look like a natural in the kitchen.

            If you’re an afternoon tea fanatic, you’ll love the Lollipop Jam Sandwiches I made this week. This recipe has three ingredients, and takes less than an hour to make!

What you’ll need:

-Soft bread (white, brown or mixture). Each slice of bread equates to five “lollipops,” so adjust serving size accordingly.
-Butter
-Jam

1. Use a rolling pin to flatten the bread slices. The bread should be flat enough to roll without breakage.

img_1670

2. Cut the crust off with a serrated bread knife. Check both sides of the slice to make sure all crust has been cut off. It’s okay if your bread doesn’t look like a perfect rectangle.

3. Spread butter and the jam of your choice onto your bread slices. I recently bought some Lilikoi butter (passion fruit curd) at the KCC Farmers Market, so I decided to use that as my topping.

step3

4. Roll up the bread slices into a sausage shape.

step4

5. Wrap each individual sandwich tightly in cling wrap, and tie both ends into a knot.

step6

6. Keep in the refrigerator for 30 minutes. This helps the sandwiches firm into their “lollipop” shape.

7. After 30 minutes, remove sandwiches from the refrigerator. Untie the ends (I ended up having to cut off the knots), and remove cling wrap.

8. Using the serrated bread knife, slice sandwiches into individual “lollipops.” I made the mistake of cutting more than five “lollipops” per slice. You want the jam sandwiches to be thick, and by cutting more, I made mine thinner than it should have been.

step7

9. Put a cocktail stick in each “lollipop” and serve!

complete

Lollipop Jam Sandwiches work well as a centerpiece and an afternoon tea snack. If you or your friends decide to make your own afternoon tea party, consider making this simple, yet adorable dish!

-Kelly

Note: I found this recipe in The Vintage Tea Party Book by Angel Adoree. My friend gave it to me for my birthday and it is the most adorable cookbook I have ever received.
One thought on “Afternoon Simplici-tea: Lollipop Jam Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

