Colleen’s June Playlist

Happy June everyone!

So even though the weather over here in Connecticut isn’t being consistent quite yet, to me, June is the universal start to summer. And all good summers need a solid playlists to start them right. So here are all the songs that I’m obsessed with at the moment and are perfect for summer.

For this playlist I mostly chose fast paced songs with more synthetic sounds, but I love talking music and making playlists so if anyone wants some music updates or a different playlist made I’m your girl. Fair warning though, this isn’t exactly a *clean* playlist. There’s at least 2 songs in here that are marked explicit by Spotify, so don’t say I didn’t warn you.

These songs are perfect for driving so turn up your speakers, roll down the windows and start dancing!

Image

Breakdown:

1. Animal Love I- Charlene Kaye

Music Video 

Okay Charlene Kaye’s her music is SO fun. This song is perfect for the summer because it’s got a beat that makes you just want to dance. It’s super upbeat and happy and generally great. Not only is Charlene’s music amazing, but I saw her in concert a couple years ago and she puts on an amazing show. Seriously it was one of the best concerts I’ve ever been to. Everyone go listed to her because she’s fabulous.

giphy copy

2. When I’m Acting Crazy- Jay Stolar

Live Performance 

So, Jay Stolar is probably my favorite artist right now. I saw him in concert when he opened for Charlene Kaye (actually the video that this performance is from) and my friend and I promptly fell in love with him. Like seriously he’s great and his music is fun and so good. Unfortunately at the time that we saw him in concert his album wasn’t out yet and I had to wait over a year for it to come out and I only survived because of youtube videos of live performances. I love him, and this song is super fun to listen to during the summer because it’s a great song to sing along to and has an awesome beat. Everyone needs to listen to his music because he’s seriously the best. Everyone go give him love.

Image

3. It’s a Good Life- KONGOS

Live Performance

So KONGOS were also an opener for Charlene Kaye when I saw her, and I also fell in love with their music. I mean any band that can rock an accordion and have it not sound out of place is pretty awesome in my book. This song is pretty perfect for summer because as they said in the video above, the song is about saying screw it all to the work we have in daily life and going to a greek island to have a beer. What better summer could there be?

Image

4. Dying to Start Again- Lovelife

Live Performance 

This is a great song. It’s catchy and fun. I’ll admit I haven’t really listened to the rest of the band’s music, but I really love this song. The beat is breezy and tropical. It’s a great summer song because it’s about wanting to leave negative stuff behind and start new. Summer is a time to relax and let go of the issues in your life and be happy.

Image

5. Pilgrim- MØ

Studio Performance

This song is super catchy. It’s not as happy or breezy as the others, but it’s still got something addicting about it. When I hear this song I feel like I should be walking down a beach or boardwalk in a pair of heels with a drink in my hand and a giant pair of sunglasses on while people stare. It makes me feel aloof and cool, but also like dancing, so it makes a great party song.

Image

6. Rill Rill- Sleigh Bells

Music Video

The beginning of the music video is exactly why I picked it to be on this playlist. Sleigh Bells are an awesome band and you should totally check them out, because they have a really cool sound. This song is perfect for a road trip. Whenever I hear it, I want to jump in my car, grab some friends, and just start driving. Something about it makes it an awesome driving song and road trips, even mini ones, are a staple of summer.

Image

7. Dance Like This- Talk Fine

Music Video

I mean, the song title is about dancing. If this song doesn’t make you want to dance, I don’t know what will. The beat is awesome and I feel like it’s not only a great dancing song, but is also a great road trip song. Seriously though, if you want people to dance, just put this song on and it will happen, trust me I’m a dance scientist**.

**no i’m not.

Image

8. Stay High (Habits Remix) ft. Hippie Sabotage- Tove Lo

Music Video

This is another song that makes me feel a lot cooler than I actually am. When I listen to it, I feel like I should be out mingling with people and proving how awesome I am. It also makes me feel like I’m either in a really cool, indie movie, or an episode of Skins. Both are awesome. When I hear this song I want to grab a group of friends, drive to the beach, and have a bonfire. It’s just a really awesome song that makes you feel happy and cool.

Image

9. Just a Little Bit- Kids of 88

Confession: I first heard this song on Teen Wolf. But when I heard it last summer during my binge watch it quickly became an obsession. It’s such a fun song. It makes me want to party and dance. I feel like I should be at a club dancing with all my friends when I hear this song. It makes me want to go out and be spontaneous and have fun. It’s a great song for summer because this is my default driving song.

Image

10. Global Concepts- Robert DeLong

Music Video 

Something about this song just makes it super awesome. Like I couldn’t tell why I’m so obsessed with it but I am. When I get obsessed with songs I repeatedly listen to them until I hate them. However, this song hasn’t had that happen yet. I discovered it driving home from Senior Prom last year and have had it on repeat since and I don’t know if I’ll ever get tired of it. It’s a dancey song with a great beat. It ends the playlist on a high note and is super fun to listen to.

Image

Happy Dancing and Happy Summer!

Colleen

**Disclaimer: all gifs are taken from google and do not belong to me. However they do represent my obsessions in life**

3 thoughts on “Colleen’s June Playlist

Leave a Reply

