Whoopie for Moms!

Okay so first I’d like to apologize for that terrible pun, but really bad puns are my favorite thing so it’s something you’ll get used to.

So being the fabulous (and modest) daughter that I am, I cook dinner for my mom yearly on Mother’s Day. Usually my older sister and I tag team it, but this year she’s studying abroad in London so I was on my own.

The the main course i decided to make this recipe.

But the real gem of this meal was the dessert:

Whoopie Pies

(which is the reason for the terrible pun at the beginning of the article)

My mom grew up in Maine so Whoopie Pies are one of her favorite desserts and have been a classic in my family for as long as I could remember.

I know that recently there’s been a trend to making Whoopie Pies fancy with different flavors of cookies and filling but I’m a purist and the only way to make them is with a chocolate cookie and a vanilla/marshmallow filling.

They’re super easy to make and only take a few ingredients:

1/2 Cup Shortening

1 Cup Sugar

1 Egg

1 Cup Milk

1 Teaspoon Vanilla

2 Cups Flour

1 1/2 Teaspoons Baking Soda

1/2 Cup Cocoa

1/2 Teaspoon Salt

To make the cookies you cream the shortening and sugar and once it’s nice and fluffy add the rest of the ingredients and mix well.

IMG_1373

Then put parchment paper down on a baking sheet and preheat the oven to 400 degrees. I use a mini ice cream scoop my mom has (she pretty much has every cooking tool that exists) to get them all a uniform size and then cook them for 7 minutes. Just make sure you make an even number of cookies because in the end you’re making sandwiches.

IMG_1376

To make the filling all you need is:

1/2 Cup Shortening

1 Cup Confectioners Sugar

1 Cup Marshmallow Fluff

1/2 Teaspoon Vanilla

A splash of milk

Cream the shortening and powdered sugar together then add the fluff and vanilla until they’re all mixed then you can either pipe the filling onto the cookies in a frosting bag or just use a knife to spread it on then make little sandwiches and you’re done!

IMG_1377

They’re delicious little happiness sandwiches and are so easy.

Happy Baking!!

Colleen

Leave a Reply

