Off To Peru: Kelly’s Top Five Carry-On Items

Screen Shot 2014-05-09 at 10.36.06 AM

Peru, here I come! After a year of planning, my dad and I are finally going on our Machu Picchu and Amazon adventure. I’m in the airport lounge right now jittering with excitement. And no, it’s not from my green tea latte.

This will be my first time visiting South America. So far, I have traveled to North America, Europe, Africa and Asia (if you want a complete list of places I’ve been, check out our about page!). Cool fact about Peru: It’s in the same time zone as Chicago! No pesky jet lag for me 🙂

Recently, someone asked me how I’ve survived all the long flights I take. Honestly, long flights have become the norm for me; Hawaii and Chicago, my old and new homes, are pretty far apart by plane (8-9 hours!). But, now that I have the time and the Wi-Fi in this lounge to think about it, there are five items that keep me sane on flights. Hopefully they’ll keep you sane too. In no particular order, here are Kelly’s top five carry-on items for long flights:

1. Headphones/Earphones

Also known as the “baby cry blocker.” Don’t get me wrong, I love babies, but I also love sleep… and my eardrums. In all seriousness, headphones are a perfect way to distract yourself and block outside noise. If you want to watch the movie provided by the plane, plug in your headset. If you want to listen to your music, do the same. Plus, they take up little to no space in your carry-on!

2. Reading Materials

I just bought myself a Kindle Paperwhite for the Peru trip; my bag (and shoulders) are so grateful. I constantly find books I want to read, but I never find the time to start! Airplanes are perfect for me because I finally have multiple hours at my disposal to lay back with a good book. The books I have chosen for this flight are Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer Smith.

3. Snacks

I’m a stingy person, so I cringe every time I see the prices of those “snack boxes” airplanes provide. Pack something salty and something sweet (you never know what you’re going to crave!) and you’ll be set for your flight.

4. A spare outfit

Weird, I know. But this is not for the sake of fashion! With international flights, you may be traveling for more than a day. I always feel icky after the first couple of flights, so a change of clothes is the perfect pick-me-up to get me through. Also, if your checked bag goes missing, you won’t be stuck with one pair of clothes while you wait.

5. Sleep gear

A neck pillow and an eye mask are all I need to sleep through a long flight. I learned very quickly that sleeping with my head on my hand for multiple hours kills my arm and my neck! Get a blow-up neck pillow and give your head something to rest its full weight on. The eye mask is there to block out all those bright TV screens, random lights, etc. Pop those on and you’ll be at your destination in no time!

So what’s in your top five carry-on items? Leave your ideas in the comment section below. Until then, I’m off to Peru!

Hasta luego,

Kelly

One thought on “Off To Peru: Kelly’s Top Five Carry-On Items

Leave a Reply

